Published: Thu, August 31, 2017
Medical | By Rita Mcdonald

By election results: AAP wins Bawana, BJP leads Goa

By election results: AAP wins Bawana, BJP leads Goa

The BJP was trailing at the third position with 23949 votes. As a result, the party candidate Ved Prakash, an AAP turncoat, could not put up an effective fight.

"Congrats to all the dedicated volunteers of AAP for Bawana ByPoll win and all the best to CYSS Raj Gopal Rai you deserves a bow", Kumar tweeted.

The AAP won by nearly 24, 000 votes this year after the final round of counting while the BJP earned 35,834 and Congress earned 31,919 votes. Panaji and Nandyal had recorded more than 70 percent voter turnout while in Bawana, voter turnout was 45 per cent.

Congress under Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ajay Maken was desperately viewing Bawana as a chance to open its account in Delhi Assembly as the party was completely routed in 2015 elections and drew a naught. AAP candidate Ram Chander bagged 59,886 votes in the bypoll, while the BJP that had fielded AAP turncoat Ved Prakash, finished a distant second with 35,834 votes.

Houston police officer dies in flood, chief says
During the conference, Acevedo emotionally reflected on Perez, stating, "Steve is one of the sweetest persons I've ever met". Attempts to reach him were not answered, and his wife said she hadn't seen him since 4 a.m. on Sunday, Acevedo said.

Panaji: The BJP has won both the seats in Goa that went for by-elections on August 23.

Goa bi-elections had become significant on another count as former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar was in the fray from one constituency while from the other a Congress defector Vishwajit Rane who is son of former chief minister Pratap Singh Rane was contesting as BJP nominee after having resigned from Congress.

The results are crucial for all the three political parties who had exuded confidence to win the seat. Staging a comeback from back-to-back electoral defeats in recent past, the Arvind Kejriwal-led party leapt way ahead of both Congress and BJP.

The by-election was held because Ved Prakash had to resign as a legislator after shifting to the BJP.

Stafford signs new contract with Lions
Watch as Stafford's wife, Kelly, breaks the news to their twin baby girls that they will be staying in Detroit for six more years. ESPN's Michael Rothstein later reported that Stafford will earn an average annual value of $27 million.

Meanwhile, in a relief for Andhra Pradesh chief minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) managed to pull off a major win in the Nandyal by-election.

The ruling party was keen to register its first victory in a bypoll as it lost the previous by election in Rajouri Garden to the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

The AAP has won this seat again, but it has lost nearly 50,000 votes in just two years in the constituency.

TDP's Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy defeated his nearest rival Silpa Mohan Reddy of the Yuvajana Shramika Rythu Congress Party by over 27,000 votes.

Transgender troops in military can continue to serve for now, Mattis says
The study will determine transgender troops' "military effectiveness and lethality, budgetary constraints, and applicable law". The effective dates for all three changes are in 2018.

The bypoll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had quit the YSR Congress party to join the TDP in 2016.

Like this: