Published: Thu, July 20, 2017
Medical | By Rita Mcdonald

Jalen Hurts named to Davey O'Brien Award watch list

Jalen Hurts named to Davey O'Brien Award watch list

That much was confirmed when the Davey O'Brien Award Watch List was released Tuesday morning.

Among the non-SEC quarterbacks on the list are Ohio State's J.T. Barrett, Washington's Jake Browning, USC's Sam Darnold, Florida State's Deondre Francois, Louisville's Lamar Jackson, Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield and Penn State's Chance McSorley.

White is one of 30 listed for the Davey O'Brien award and one of 47 for the Johnny Unitas honor.

Former House Speaker Dennis Hastert leaves prison
Meanwhile, a new accuser filed a lawsuit in May alleging Hastert sodomized him in a bathroom stall in the early 1970s. Hastert paid Individual A only $1.7 million, and Individual A has sued Hastert for the remaining balance.

The Unitas Award, which also considers "character, citizenship, integrity, leadership and sportsmanship" in addition to on-field performance, will be presented at a banquet in Baltimore on December 8.

Texas QB Shane Buechele has been named to the Davey O'Brien Award watch list.

Former BYU quarterback and current Offensive Coordinator Ty Detmer won BYU's only Maxwell Award in 1990.

Fire crews continue to battle Detwiler Fire
So far nearly a dozen homes have been destroyed, but hundreds in the area are still threatened. Downtown Mariposa had its power cut off, according to one reporter on a local Fox affiliate.

Mangum, a junior from Eagle, Idaho, started against Wyoming in the 2016 Poinsettia Bowl and led BYU to a 24-21 victory, throwing for one touchdown and rushing for another.

Bentley threw for 1,420 yards and nine touchdowns in his freshman year, and only played half the season. Whether a guy is a pure pocket passer or a dual-threat playmaker, this is an award that every college quarterback hopes to win. From that list, the Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 20.

The 2017 season marks the 11th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on Results from the Davey O'Brien Fan Vote will be combined with the ballots from the Selection Committee. Want further evidence? Just look at the contenders for the nation's top quarterback award.

Guardiola confirms clause as Iheanacho closes in on Leicester deal
He needs to play at that age and that's why him, the club and everybody, we decide what's best for him. Not just for next season but the next three, four, five years, because they are all young players".

Additionally, senior punter Jonny Linehan was named to the 2017 Ray Guy Award preseason watch list.

Like this: